About the Centre

The Centre for Microbiology and Environmental Systems Science brings together 18 working groups, and addresses two key scientific disciplines of the 21st century with enormous potential for synergy across disciplines. The Centre strives to lead the way in world-class research with a focus on the topic of microbiomes in medicine and the environment.

Head: Andreas Richter

Vice Heads: Thilo Hofmann, Michael Wagner

The working groups at our Centre are organised in four divisions at the Department of Microbiology and Ecosystem Science, which is headed by Matthias Horn, Thomas Rattei and Alexander Loy, and the Department of Environmental Geosciences, headed by Stephan Kraemer, Frank von der Kammer and Thorsten Hüffer.

Divisions at the Centre
 • CUBE - Computational Systems Biology
 • DOME - Microbial Ecology
 • EDGE - Environmental Geosciences
 • TER - Terrestrial Ecosystem Research

List of working groups and staff
Centre Office

Education at the Centre is comprised of the Doctoral School on Microbiology and Environmental Science, headed by Thomas Rattei and Stephan Krämer, as well as participation of the Centre's researchers in several Master's programmes.